MARATHON COUNTY FARM TECHNOLOGY DAYS SCHOLARSHIP FUND



a component fund of the

BACKGROUND:

In 1996, Marathon County hosted Wisconsin Farm Progress Days at the Ross-Hart Farms in Marathon. The three-day event was the largest agricultural show in Wisconsin and one of the largest in the nation.

The event showcased the latest improvements in agricultural production, including many practical applications of recent research and technological developments.

Farm Progress Days, chaired by Ken Sipple, was a tremendous success in all respects and a tribute to the local volunteerism and community support that made it possible.

This successful event generated earnings, which made it possible for local sponsors to fund several community projects and initiatives — including this scholarship fund.

In 2012, Marathon County again hosted what had then become known as Farm Technology Days.

Purpose:

Originally established as the Marathon County Farm Progress Days Scholarship Fund, the Marathon County Farm Technology Days Scholarship Fund, a component fund of the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin, is designed to promote continuing educational opportunities in the field of agriculture and to provide educational opportunities during various stages of an individual's life and/or career.

Scholarships are available to qualified persons who are enrolled in a degreed program, short course, or continuing education program within the University of Wisconsin, or Wisconsin Technical College System. This could include the study of Agribusiness Management, Genetics, Landscape Architecture, Biochemistry, Bacteriology, Food Science, Horticulture, Environmental Sciences, Agricultural Journalism, or other related fields of agricultural study.

ELIGIBILITY:

Candidates for this scholarship must meet the following requirements:

- Be a Marathon County resident, or a student currently studying at a school within Marathon County (including the Agricultural Center of Excellence through Northcentral Technical College);
- Planning to pursue a degreed program, short course, or continuing education program within the University of Wisconsin, or Wisconsin Technical College System
- Possessing potential for successful work in the agricultural industry as indicated by past record, test data, and other supplemental information

Applicants are eligible to receive the scholarship only one time.

CRITERIA FOR SELECTION:

The following criteria will be taken into consideration by the Scholarship Selection Committee when determining the recipients of scholarship award:

- Potential for success in chosen agricultural field of study;
- Commitment to the agricultural industry, especially in Marathon County;
- Relative educational achievement;
- Good character, citizenship, and leadership;
- Financial need

APPLICATION PROCESS:

Students are encouraged to apply through the Community Foundation's online application site at www.grantinterface.com/cfoncwscholarships/Common/LogOn.aspx. Completed applications must be submitted by **February 1** to be considered by the Selection Committee.

A Selection Committee appointed by the Community Foundation's Board of Directors will make a recommendation of the recipient(s) based on objective and non-discriminatory review of all qualified applications. Information will be held in the confidence of the Selection Committee, the Community Foundation's board of directors, and its staff.

ANNOUNCEMENT:

Announcement of the scholarship recipients will be made in March at the Partnership for Progressive Agriculture Farm-City Dinner, a program of the Wausau Region Chamber of Commerce.

PAYMENT:

Student must provide proof of registration directly to the Community Foundation office for payment to occur. Scholarship funds will be sent directly to the school the recipient is attending.

Due to varying fund growth, scholarship amounts are subject to committee review. The current maximum award is \$1,000.

PAST SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS:

1999	Kristina Friedli	2007	Ryan Eckert
1999	Melissa Utecht	2007	Joseph Ploeckelman
2000	Amanda Landwehr	2008	Travis De Wolfe
2000	Sarah Nikolai	2008	Melissa Ploeckelman
2001	Michelle King	2009	Candis O'Brien
2001	Rebecca Krueger	2009	Katie Wirkus
2002	Andrea Behnke	2010	Mackenzie Fochs
2002	Josef Harris	2010	Dustin Sprague
2003	Craig Gumz	2011	Bethany Pelch
2004	Jeremy Luckey	2011	Melanie Zernicke
2004	Crystal Seefeldt	2012	Morgan Zernicke
2005	Michael Mueller	2012	Aaron Zimmerman
2005	Connie Walters	2013	Michaela Klump
2006	Otto Kraus	2013	Jacob Langenhahn
2006	Adam Mielke	2013	Taylor Polka

Questions or requests for further information can be directed to the Community Foundation office.